Times Up- Song Suffragettes​

 

About a week ago a Nashville group of woman known as the Song Suffragettes released a song called Time’s Up. The song is basically about how now is the time of woman to speak up. It is also giving out the message that time is up for the men out there who have done any wrongdoing to a woman. In my sociology class, we were talking about the “Me Too” movement. My professor mentioned that in a class with 25 women 12 have been sexually assaulted and another 8 have been raped when they were between the ages of 18-25. This statement sums up that men between the age of 18-25 have done some type of wrongdoing to a female. They may not realize that’s what happened but its the unfortunate truth.

A little more about the Song Suffragettes is they are a collective of female singer-songwriters who perform every Monday night at Nashville’s Listening Room Café. With a mantra of #LetTheGirlsPlay, Song Suffragettes has featured over 200 women in the past 3+ years resulting in multiple publishing and record deals for some of music’s brightest new talent. Today they have 3 women in the group who have been interviewed here on Country Chords. Those women are Jordyn Mallory,  Tristan McIntosh, and Tenille Arts. 

Please remember you are not alone and to speak up. Your voice may be the first to speak up or could be the voice that makes things happen. You never know, so if you see something or have been affected my something please say something.

Overall the song is very well done, has a great message and features very talented woman.

The other woman featured in the song include:

Kalie Shorr – http://www.kalieshorr.com/
Tasji Bachman – http://www.tasjibachman.com/
Chloe Gilligan – https://www.instagram.com/gilligansis…
Savannah Keyes – https://www.instagram.com/savannahkey…
Mignon – https://mignonofficial.com/
Gracie Schram – http://www.gracieschram.com/
Tiera – http://tieramusic.com/
Jenna Paulette – http://www.jennapaulette.com/
Emma White – http://emmawhitemusic.com/
Jordyn Mallory – https://www.jordynmusic.com/
Emma Lynn White – https://www.instagram.com/emmalynnwhite/
Regan Stewart – http://www.reganstewart.com/
Kim Paige – https://www.kimpaigemusic.com/
Jenna McDaniel – http://jennamcdaniel.com/
Madison Kozak – https://www.madisonkozak.com/
Jenny Ray – https://www.jennyraymusic.com/
Tenille Arts – https://www.tenillearts.com/
Tristan McIntosh – https://www.tristanlive.com/
Tia Scola – https://www.instagram.com/tiascola/
Alexis Gomez – https://www.alexisgomezmusic.com/
Trannie Stevens – https://www.instagram.com/tranniestev…
Candi Carpenter – http://www.candicarpenter.com/
Lena Stone – http://lenastone.com/

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s